Workers’ Compensation Lawyer New Brunswick, NJ | Middlesex County | Work Injury Attorney
When it comes to the workday, even people who love their jobs have days where they are focused on the clock – waiting for quitting time. Unfortunately, when you get hurt at work, the ticking clock becomes even more important. There are strict deadlines to follow when applying for Workers’ Compensation benefits in New Jersey.
In New Jersey, an injured employee must file a formal claim petition within two years of the date of injury or the date of last payment of compensation, whichever is later. If your injury is considered an “occupational illness,” such as hearing loss or repetitive motion injury, you must file the claim within two years from the date you first became aware of your condition and believe it was related to your job.
However, there are certain Employer Notice requirements under NJ Workers’ Compensation Law. While you have up to two years to file a claim for benefits, you must notify your employer within 90 days of the injury to preserve your right to Workers’ Compensation benefits. In fact, if you notify your employer within the first 30 days after the workplace injury occurred, you are assured of full Comp benefits. Between 31 and 90 days, the level of benefits you receive may be affected.
Workers’ Compensation laws are complicated. Talk to an experienced Workers’ Compensation lawyer at Team Law as soon as possible to ensure that your claim is filed properly and on time. Further, if your Workers’ Compensation benefits claims was denied, contact us right away.
Notifying Your New Jersey Employer of a Workplace Injury
If you have been injured or become ill at work, you are entitled to file for Workers’ Compensation benefits. All employers in New Jersey must provide coverage for their workers in case they get hurt on the job. Whether you want to take advantage of temporary disability benefits or permanent disability benefits, you must report the accident and file a claim by following the procedures of the New Jersey Workers’ Compensation System carefully. The first step to filing for Workers’ Compensation is to notify your employer that you’ve been injured on the job. You are required to provide Employer Notice within the first 90 days.
While the law does not demand that you notify your employer in writing, the experienced Workers’ Compensation lawyers at Team Law strongly suggest creating a paper trail for all things related to your injury. It’s simply in your best legal interests and will provide your lawyer with documentation to prove you’ve adhered to the proper deadlines. Additionally, if you are denied benefits or have to challenge the decisions of the insurance company or medical professionals, you will have a record of everything you’ve done to document your case.
- You can write a formal business letter and have it sent to your employer by certified mail. (Or, have your lawyer do this.)
- You can write an email informing your boss or human resources department of your injury.
- Simply mentioning you have been hurt to the proper authority at work will count as “employer notification,” as long as you can prove the conversation took place.
Whichever way you make the notification, make sure you do so within the time limit and keep records of dates and times of all correspondence and conversations you have with your employer about your injury. Make sure your documentation includes details about the accident and the injury, including date and place of the incident.
It’s important to hire a lawyer to assist you with your Workmans Comp claim to ensure you get the full extent of medical benefits you deserve as well as replacement pay while you are out of work recuperating. If you missed the deadline, speak to a qualified Workers’ Compensation attorney at Team Law. We can’t turn back the clock, but we may be able to help you file your claim regardless of the late notice.
Talk to an Experienced NJ Workers’ Compensation Lawyer about Your Case Today
If you are severely injured at work, the very first thing you need to do is get medical care. However, if it’s not a severe injury, you must notify your employer of the workplace injury. When possible, you should notify your employer before getting medical assistance. In most cases, your employer or human resources department will have paperwork you can fill out to file your Workers’ Compensation claim.
If your employer doesn’t dispute your claim, obtaining your medical benefits may go fairly smoothly. However, don’t count on it. Workers’ Compensation laws in New Jersey are complex. If you have suffered a severe injury and are facing significant recovery time, you owe it to yourself and your family to meet with a qualified Workers’ Comp lawyer who will protect your rights and make sure you get the compensation you deserve.
Do not delay. Contact Team Law right away for a free consultation about your case. We have helped countless NJ workers, like you, who have been injured in Essex, Union, Hudson and Middlesex counties. We will fight for you and your family, too.