Were you issued a traffic ticket in new jersey?
Traffic laws in NJ are designed to protect the public and provide safety for both pedestrians and motorists. That’s why individuals who violate traffic laws may be dealt with as per the court system. If you have been issued a traffic ticket in New Jersey, here’s what you should consider doing:
Avoid Arguing with the Issuing Officer
If you are involved in a traffic violation in NJ, it is important to avoid arguing with the issuing police officer. An officer’s responsibility is to issue summons when he or she believes that the driver has committed a violation of the law. It is recommended that you wait until the official court hearing when the judge decides if you did, in fact, violate the law. Oftentimes, one’s court date will be just days from the date the ticket was issued.
Prepare for Your First Scheduled Court Hearing
An arraignment is referred to as the first scheduled court date. On this date, the Court usually informs individuals of the charges that have been filed against them and how they plan to plead. Typical answers may include “Not Guilty, “Guilty,” or “No Contest,” especially when the case is a non-criminal matter. In most cases, one should consider pleading not guilty and consult with a trusted New Jersey municipal attorney before taking further action.
Consult with (or Hire) a Traffic Ticket Lawyer
Because minor traffic offenses can have a serious impact on one’s criminal records and/or driving privileges, it is important to hire experienced municipal court attorneys to protect his or her rights. For example, a simple speeding ticket in New Jersey may come with the following penalties:
- Drivers get two demerit points if they exceed 1-14 mph over the maximum speed limit;
- Drivers get four demerit points if they exceed 15-29 mph over the maximum speed limit; and
- Drivers get five demerit points if they exceed 30 mph or more over the maximum speed limit.
With that in mind, drivers may be disqualified from driving after exceeding 12 demerit points within a three-year period. Before that, you may also be put on probation and need to pay a surcharge of $150 ($25 extra for every additional demerit point). In addition to the suspension of driving privileges, additional penalties may include an increase in insurance premiums. This means that insurance companies may add up the points you receive for a certain offense to adjust (often increase) the amount of your insurance premiums. The more demerit points you have, the more expensive those premiums will be.
Team Law is Home to Experienced Municipal Attorneys in New Jersey
Why hire a New Jersey municipal attorney? These professionals are trained to explain and protect their clients’ rights and obtain the best possible plea agreement. In addition, experienced attorneys can fight the ticket in a trial. Regardless of the situation, it really helps to obtain legal counsel because you have a higher chance of amending the charge to a less serious one.
At Team Law, our team is comprised of attorneys who are experienced in all aspects of municipal court cases, including traffic violations. To learn more about our legal expertise, feel free to schedule a consultation with us by calling 1.800.832.6529.