Even though slip and fall accidents happen often and may seem normal, that doesn’t make them any less dangerous. Slip and fall accidents are the most common cause of personal injury claims in the US, and they can be very dangerous. Personal injury laws protect people who slip and fall because of someone else’s or a business’s carelessness. Victims of accidents have the right to get paid for their injuries and losses. Team Law’s skilled Woodbridge slip and fall accident lawyers have a long history of getting the most money for their clients in Woodbridge and all over New Jersey.
Accidents involving slips and falls frequently result in injuries that necessitate medical attention, hospitalization, surgery, or rehabilitation. Accident victims can seek compensation for the losses they suffered in the accident—referred to as “damages”—by filing a personal injury claim. These losses could result in any of the following, among others:
Compensation is not intended to penalize the party at fault; rather, it is meant to return the injured victim to the state in which they were before the accident. Damages, like medical bills, can occasionally have a specific monetary value. Other losses are incalculable and include emotional distress and pain as well as the loss of enjoyment in life. The New Jersey court will determine the value of those damages by considering several criteria.
All claims involving slip and fall accidents center on negligence. To file a personal injury claim and receive compensation for your injuries, another person or organization must have acted carelessly or negligently to cause your accident. It can be difficult to prove negligence, and this is something that must be done. While each slip and fall incident is unique, some instances of how someone else could be at fault in these mishaps include as follows:
It is typical for the property owner to claim that the individual who was hurt was actually to blame for the mishap after a slip and fall incident.
If you file a New Jersey injury claim against the property owner who let you slip and fall, expect the other side to say you were partly to blame. Your settlement or court award may be much lower if the argument succeeds. Some examples of the property owner’s justifications are as follows:
As long as their share of fault is less than 50%, an injured individual can sue other parties under New Jersey Statutes section 2A:15-5.1. The court will deduct your part of the blame from any damages it awards you. New Jersey juries must assign a percentage of blame to each party in personal injury cases.
If the jury finds you 25% responsible for your slip and fall, your damages ($20,000) include medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other losses. After deducting your $5,000 contribution to the accident’s 25% responsibility, or $20,000 in total damages, the property owner or other defendant(s) will pay the remaining $15,000.
Even if your claim settles before trial, New Jersey’s comparative negligence rule applies. If your case goes to Court during settlement talks, the property owner’s insurance company and/or attorney are concerned. Thus, any settlement offer will consider how the opposing party sees your role in the slip and fall. Because of this, the property owner must be convincingly accused.
It can be challenging to determine whether your slip and fall event qualifies as a personal injury claim. Based on the special circumstances surrounding your injury, your case has to be assessed. Let us assist.
For many years, our Woodbridge personal injury lawyers at Team Law have fought for the rights of accident victims all around New Jersey. Team Law, a renowned law company, gives each case individual attention and is committed to defending the rights of those who have suffered an injury. One of our Woodbridge slip and fall accident lawyers will meet with you to evaluate your slip and fall accident claim, respond to your inquiries, and go over your legal alternatives during the free case evaluation offered by our Woodbridge slip and fall accident lawyers. Make an appointment right away.
Woodbridge, NJ, is in Middlesex County. The central Raritan Valley township is a regional hub for Central New Jersey and a major New York City bedroom suburb.
The 2020 census placed Woodbridge seventh in New Jersey after placing sixth in 2000 and 2010.
The Garden State Parkway and New Jersey Turnpike, the state’s busiest routes, meet in Woodbridge, home to the NJTA’s headquarters.
Every slip and fall event is unique, with different circumstances and case-specific facts. Generally speaking, a sprained ankle does not qualify as a major personal injury. But a fractured bone or head injury might. It is best to speak with an expert personal injury lawyer if you have been wounded in a slip and fall accident so they can assess the strength of your claim and recommend the best course of action for you.
The statute of limitations in New Jersey is two years from the accident date for filing a claim for personal injuries, such as a slip and fall.
Team Law is outstanding. Everyone is courteous and knowledgeable and I felt that I got the personal attention that I needed.what our clients are saying