Board meeting

New Jersey Robbery Defense Lawyers

You Can Rely on the Experienced New Jersey Robbery Defense Lawyers at Team Law

In New Jersey, robbery is a very serious crime. You can receive up to 10 years in prison and a $150,000 fine in New Jersey if you are convicted of robbery.

As is the case with most serious crimes, over the course of many years, an experienced lawyer deals with many clients who have found themselves in the same situation someone charged with robbery is now in.

If you have been charged with robbery in New Jersey, contact Team Law today so we can discuss how to proceed with your defense. 

Being Charged With Robbery And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.

How Robbery is Defined in New Jersey

New Jersey robbery statute

In New Jersey, the relevant statute (law) of the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice is 2C:15-1.

This statute, last revised in 1981, defines robbery and its consequences as follows:

2C:15-1.  Robbery

      a.  Robbery defined.    A person is guilty of robbery if, in the course of  committing a theft, he:

    (1) Inflicts bodily injury or uses force upon another;  or

     (2) Threatens another with or purposely puts him in fear of immediate bodily  injury;  or

     (3) Commits or threatens immediately to commit any crime of the first or second degree.

     An act shall be deemed to be included in the phrase  “in the course of committing a theft”  if it occurs in an attempt to commit theft or in immediate  flight after the attempt or commission.

Get Advice From An Experienced New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 1-800-832-6529 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.

Penalties for robbery in New Jersey

The same statute sets forth penalties for robbery in New Jersey:

 b.  Grading.    Robbery is a crime of the second degree, except that it is  a crime of the first degree if in the course of committing the theft the actor  attempts to kill anyone, or purposely inflicts or attempts to inflict serious  bodily injury, or is armed with, or uses or threatens the immediate use of a  deadly weapon.

It is well worth noting that robbery in New Jersey can come with a penalty of $150,000 and 10 years in prison and because robbery is such a serious charge, you would be required to serve 85% of your sentence before parole eligibility.

Possible Defenses to Robbery in New Jersey

In any robbery charge, the burden of proof is squarely upon the prosecution to prove not only that the person accused committed the acts in issue, but that the act itself meets all of the elements of the definition of a robbery.

For robbery in New Jersey, the the prosecutor must establish beyond a reasonable doubt all of the four following facts:

By working with a highly skilled and experienced criminal law attorney at Team Law, they may be able to find factual inconsistencies between the actions of the defendant and the factors that need to be proven for a robbery conviction. 

If it could be proven that you were not at the scene of the theft, that would be a viable defense to a charge of robbery, 

If it could be proven that you neither used force nor threatened to use force while committing the theft, this could be a potential defense.

If it could be proven that your acts were not intentional or that you did not possess the mental capacities at the time to understand the nature of your act, this could also be a possible viable defense. 

Contact Our Experienced New Jersey Robbery Defense Lawyers to Discuss Options Today

If you have been accused of robbery in New Jersey you need to act quickly to allow yourself as much time as possible to build a viable defense to the charges. Contact Team Law today and we will fight for your rights as an individual accused of a serious crime. 

Frequently Asked Questions About Robbery Defense in New Jersey

If I committed an intentional theft but can prove that I did not use or threaten force, is this a possible defense to robbery in New Jersey?

Yes. It is critically important to remember that the prosecution in a robbery case must prove all of the aspects of the charge as set forth in the New Jersey statute. This includes the requirement that you used or threatened to use force while committing the theft. An experienced robbery defense law firm will understand this and all possible defenses to your robbery charge.

If I am convicted of robbery in New Jersey, can I still purchase or own a gun?

No. Conviction of a robbery charge in New Jersey is one of the crimes that prevent you from purchasing or owning a gun.

Is robbery a felony in New Jersey?

Yes, it is the equivalent of a felony. In New Jersey, robbery is a crime of the second degree, which falls firmly within what many jurisdictions call a felony. Robbery in New Jersey is a very serious crime and should never be minimized by someone facing a charge.

Curious If You Have a Valid Claim?

Free case evaluation

Quickly Find Out If You Have a Good Case for Free!

5 Stars

Team Law is outstanding. Everyone is courteous and knowledgeable and I felt that I got the personal attention that I needed.

what our clients are saying

our awards

certified trial attorney
super lawyers
national trial lawyers
Martindale Preeminent
Million Dollar Advocate Forum
Martindale Distinguished
Phone CALL NOW