Free Case Evaluation
Please provide as much information as possible in order to help us evaluate your case as accurately as possible.
(*) Indicates a required field.
If you have been arrested on DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey, the reality of how serious the situation can be will begin to set in quickly. Loss of your driver’s license can impact every aspect of your life—and, on top of that, you may be facing jail time and steep financial penalties. You don’t have to sit back and accept the penalties at face value. A skilled DUI/DWI defense lawyer can fight to uphold your rights.
The trusted lawyers at Team Law have over 60 years’ experience navigating the New Jersey legal system. We have a reputation as strong and aggressive advocates for our clients. Our lawyers don’t back down when faced with a challenge. We will thoroughly research your case to explore every option to fight the charges against you.
Facing DUI/DWI Charges And Have Questions? We Can Help, Tell Us What Happened.
New Jersey law does not allow for plea bargaining in DUI/DWI cases. Because of this, the skill of your defense lawyer is key to getting your case dismissed regardless of your past history. In other words, the judge does not have discretion to look at your previously clean criminal record and decide to give you a break. You need the best possible lawyer to poke holes in the case against you so that the judge and prosecutor have a legal reason to dismiss.
If you were charged with DUI/DWI in New Jersey, don’t wait to get legal help. Call Team Law to speak with our experienced defense lawyers today.
Don’t go it alone. From our nine office locations throughout New Jersey, the experienced DWI/DUI attorneys at Team Law have defended clients against drunk driving charges for more than 60 years. We know there are ways to discredit evidence in DWI/DUI cases and we will work tirelessly on your behalf to protect your reputation and your ability to drive. Our office locations include:
Get Advice From An Experienced DUI/DWI Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 1-800-832-6529 To Receive Your Free Case Evaluation.
All drivers know that DUI/DWI charges are taken seriously in the New Jersey courts. Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal (the terms DUI and DWI are used interchangeably). Punishment will depend upon:
For first offenders, possible penalties for DUI/DWI include:
The period over which your license will be suspended depends upon your BAC levels (and how soon you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle under newly enacted laws). The license suspension period can range from three months to 15 months. In most cases, however, you will be able to drive provided that you install the device in your vehicle at your own expense.
If you are charged with a second DUI/DWI within ten years of your first DUI/DWI, the penalties increase substantially. You will likely face:
As you can imagine, third-time DUI/DWI offenders will face even harsher penalties, with up to 180 days in jail and much higher financial penalties.
When charged with any DUI/DWI, you need a lawyer who understands the types of defense strategies that work in these cases. Unlike other criminal cases, it is not enough to argue that you have no prior criminal record—so you deserve a break. In DUI/DWI cases, strong evidence is needed to prove that the charges should not stick.
At Team Law, we have the experience and resources to research and develop a strong defense tailored to what happened in your case. All cases are different, and some common examples of defense strategies include:
A strong defense is your only chance of avoiding harsh DUI/DWI penalties in New Jersey. Our lawyers will go to work investigating your case as soon as you call, so schedule your consultation with our team today.
Everyone makes mistakes. When it comes to DUI/DWI charges, the skill of your lawyer can play a substantial role in determining whether you get a second chance. At Team Law, we handle all types of DUI/DWI cases, including first-offense DUI/DWI, underage DUI/DWI and repeat offense cases. Call or contact our experienced New Jersey DUI/DWI defense lawyers today to learn more about how we can help.
Technically, no. DUI/DWI is a traffic offense, albeit a very serious traffic offense. It is also one of the only traffic offenses that carries potential jail time. Regardless of this technicality, a DUI/DWI has many of the same consequences as a formal criminal charge and should be taken seriously.
No and yes. Yes, the police can arrest you regardless of whether they take a breath test reading. They can arrest you for the mere fact that you refused to take the breath test. Importantly, if you refuse to take the test, they can charge you with the underlying DUI/DWI offense as well as a separate charge for your refusal. The police can base your DUI/DWI charges only on their observations at the scene—in other words, an Alcotest reading is not needed to prove DUI/DWI charges.
Team Law is outstanding. Everyone is courteous and knowledgeable and I felt that I got the personal attention that I needed.what our clients are saying
Criminal Defense Information Center