Every year, thousands of workers in New Jersey experience work-related illnesses and injuries that force them to miss work while they heal and necessitate medical attention. Workers who suffer a catastrophic sickness or accident may develop lasting limitations that limit or render them unable to engage in any type of wage-earning activity. The purpose of the workers’ compensation system in New Jersey is to give sick and injured employees financial support to help them lessen the financial hardships that a work injury or occupational sickness may bring about. Unfortunately, some employers and workers’ compensation insurance providers make it challenging for sick or injured workers to obtain the benefits they require. Bayonne workers’ compensation lawyers can help you cut through the red tape and gain funds to aid with your recuperation if your workers’ compensation claim has been postponed or refused.
Team Law’s Bayonne workers’ compensation lawyers have helped injured workers who want to receive benefits from the workers’ compensation system for close to three decades. Dan has a lot of expertise managing all different kinds and facets of workers’ compensation claims. Dan has the competence and experience to effectively represent clients in courts across the state because he is a certified trial attorney, a title held by less than 2% of New Jersey’s attorneys.
Contact our company to speak with workers comp attorneys in Bayonne, NJ for a free case examination if you have experienced a work-related accident or sickness. Our Bayonne personal injury lawyers can assist you in reviewing your options and legal rights so you are aware of what to expect from your workers’ compensation claim.
The first step in submitting a workers’ compensation claim in New Jersey is for the employee to notify the employer of the work-related illness or injury. To guarantee that a worker receives benefits from the date of their injury, this notice must be given no later than 14 days after an injury. However, in order for an employee to be eligible for any workers’ compensation benefits, notice must be given no later than 90 days following a job accident. Although many employers or workers’ compensation insurers will offer papers for injured workers to submit, employees can also notify their employer verbally or in writing of their claim.
When a work injury is reported, the employer is obligated to submit a first report of injury to the Division of Workers’ Compensation. A worker must submit a formal claim petition to the Division if an employer fails to provide this report, refuses their claim, or cancels their benefits. A claim petition gives a worker the option of seeking mediation through a formal claim hearing before the compensation judge or an informal hearing with a workers’ compensation judge in order to get a binding decision on their workers’ compensation claim. An injured worker may potentially obtain financial compensation for their persistent impairment or damage by filing a claim petition.
An employee who has experienced a job injury or occupational sickness may be eligible for a variety of cash benefits under New Jersey’s workers’ compensation laws. These advantages could include:
The American city of Bayonne is situated in the county of Hudson, New Jersey. It is situated on a peninsula that is bounded to the west by Newark Bay, to the south by the Kill Van Kull, and to the east by New York Bay. The population of the city was 63,024 as of the 2010 United States Census, up 1,182 from the 61,842 recorded in the 2000 Census and up 398 from the 61,444 counted in the 1990 Census. The city had 63,297 residents as of 2019, making it the 180th most populous in the nation according to the Population Estimates Program of the Census Bureau.
When you have been hurt while doing your job duties, contact Team Law’s Bayonne workers’ compensation lawyers for a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss how our team can help you pursue the workers’ compensation benefits your employer owes you.
Even though an employee has the option to decline receiving workers’ compensation payments, doing so could significantly reduce their legal rights. For instance, denying workers’ compensation does not provide an injured employee the right to sue their employer for personal injuries. The workers’ compensation system is the injured worker’s only legal avenue for obtaining compensation from their employer for a job injury, unless one of the few exceptions occurs. Additionally, an employer may terminate an employee for refusing care for a disabling job injury.
Your typical weekly wage previous to your job accident or the commencement of your occupational sickness will serve as the basis for any wage benefits you get under workers’ compensation. Permanent partial disability payments are based on your average weekly wage as well as the degree of the disability and the affected bodily part or parts, whereas temporary disability benefits are equivalent to 70% of your typical weekly wage (subject to maximum and minimum caps).
Team Law is outstanding. Everyone is courteous and knowledgeable and I felt that I got the personal attention that I needed.what our clients are saying