Has your job caused you any harm? If so, the New Jersey workers’ compensation system may be able to offer you financial aid and other benefits to help with the cost of your medical care and to supplement your income if you are unable to work. Although workers are entitled to benefits under the state’s workers’ compensation system whenever they suffer a workplace injury or occupational disease, businesses and their insurers occasionally delay or refuse to pay injured workers essential benefits. Trenton workers’ compensation lawyers can assist you if you are having issues obtaining benefits following a workplace accident.
Our workers comp attorneys in Trenton, NJ at Team Law have fought for the rights and interests of ill and injured employees across New Jersey for almost 30 years. In the past, our firm has successfully defended clients, recovering awards of compensation in the six- and seven-figure range. You can be confident that we have the knowledge and expertise required to explore all of your legal options if you choose our firm to assist you with your workers’ compensation claim.
If you were hurt at work in Trenton, New Jersey, you should be able to get benefits through the state’s workers’ compensation program to aid in your recovery. Learn how Trenton workers’ compensation lawyers can help you pursue a workers’ comp claim after sustaining a work injury by contacting our company for a free first case assessment by contacting our Trenton personal injury lawyers today.
Workers’ compensation may enable you to get the following financial advantages if you have experienced a work-related illness or injury:
After suffering a work-related accident, the first step in filing a workers’ compensation claim is to notify your employer of the incident and your claim. To continue to be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits, injured employees must notify their employer within 14 days of the incident but no later than 90 days after the injury. By giving notice to a manager or supervisor, an HR representative, or any other person in a position of authority, employees can complete their notice obligation. Although oral notice may be provided, workers are advised to do it in writing so that there is documentation that their employer was informed.
An employer is required to submit a first report of injury to the Division of Workers’ Compensation in New Jersey as soon as they are informed of a worker’s injury. Additionally, the employer or its workers’ compensation insurance has 60 days to look into and approve or reject the employee’s claim for benefits. A worker must submit a formal claim petition to the Division in order to pursue their workers’ compensation claim if their employer fails to submit a report to the Division or refuses to do so, or dismisses their claim. A worker who files a claim petition will be entitled to a hearing before a workers’ compensation court to either receive a binding decision from the compensation judge on their claim or to resolve their issue with their employer informally. An injured worker may also request financial compensation for their ongoing impairment or injury through a claim petition.
The city of Trenton serves as both the state capital of New Jersey and the county seat of Mercer County. It has a population of roughly 85,000 and is situated near the geographic center of the state. Trenton’s Old Barracks Museum and Trenton Battle Monument are two of the city’s most well-known historical landmarks. Connections to Amtrak and New Jersey Transit trains and buses make the Trenton Transit Center a key transportation hub in the state. Also close by is the Trenton-Mercer Airport. Trenton also hosts a number of colleges and universities, including Thomas Edison State University, Mercer County Community College, and The College of New Jersey. Several museums and galleries may be found in Trenton, adding to the city’s cultural diversity.
Don’t wait to start pursuing the benefits you are entitled to under workers’ compensation after being hurt at work. For a free, no-obligation case evaluation to discuss your legal rights and choices in your workers’ compensation claim, get in touch with our Trenton workers’ compensation lawyers at Team Law.
You just need to show that your accident or occupational disease occurred while you were working to be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. In other words, you need to demonstrate that your illness or injury developed while you were working for your company. You do not need to demonstrate that your employer’s negligence contributed to your injury or occupational illness.
In order to be eligible for workers’ compensation payments in New Jersey, an injured employee must notify their employer of their work-related injury within 14 days of a workplace accident but no later than 90 days after the accident. A worker has two years from the date of their injury or the date of the last payment of benefits to file a claim petition with the state Division of Workers’ Compensation if their employer rejects their workers’ compensation claim or stops paying full benefits.
Team Law is outstanding. Everyone is courteous and knowledgeable and I felt that I got the personal attention that I needed.what our clients are saying