Board meeting
Phone CALL NOW

Nj state senator arrested for dwi after hitting parked vehicles

NJ State Senator Arrested for DWI

A New Jersey state senator was arrested for DWI (driving while intoxicated) on Friday, March 4, 2021. Continue reading to find out what happened. 

State Senator Arrested for DWI in Jersey City

The Jersey City Police Department has reported that New Jersey State Senator Sandra Cunningham was arrested on the morning of March 4, 2021, after she allegedly hit three parked cars. State Sen. Cunningham, who was not injured in the accident, claimed she was not intoxicated at the time of the crash and that she was having an adverse reaction to her medication. Former New Jersey Governor Jim McGreevey, who picked up State Sen. Cunningham from the accident scene, also stated that he believed Cunningham had a bad reaction to her medication and was not drunk at the time of the crash, saying that he had seen Cunningham have adverse reactions to her medication in the past.

There were no injuries reported at the scene, although it is unclear if any of the hit vehicles were occupied at the time of the crash. A judge issued a warrant to conduct a bodily fluids test from State Sen. Cunningham. 

When Can You Be Arrested for DWI in New Jersey?

In New Jersey, a person can be arrested for DWI if they operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or more (drivers with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system can be arrested for DWI). 

Even if a driver’s BAC is below 0.08 percent, they can still be arrested for DWI if they’ve consumed alcohol that has negatively impacted their ability to safely operate a vehicle. 

Finally, a driver can be arrested while under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic, or habit-forming drug.

Read more: Will I Have To Pay A Surcharge After A DUI In New Jersey?

Consequences of a DWI Conviction

Driving while intoxicated is considered a serious offense in New Jersey. If you are convicted of DWI, you may be facing potential penalties that can vary depending on the level of your intoxication at the time of your arrest and whether you have prior convictions for DWI. 

If you’ve been convicted for DWI for the first time, you will face penalties of:

  • BAC of 0.08 percent or more but less than than 0.10 percent: A fine of $250 to $400, an a period of detainment of 12 to 48 hours spent over two consecutive days of at least six hours each day in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, along with a potential jail term of up to 30 days and a license suspension of up to three months.
  • BAC of 0.10 percent or more and/or under the influence of drugs: A fine of $300 to $500, an a period of detainment of 12 to 48 hours spent over two consecutive days of at least six hours each day in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, along with a potential jail term of up to 30 days and a license suspension of up to seven to 12 months.

For a second DUI conviction, you may be subject to a sentence that may include a fine of $500 to $1,000, 30 days of community service, jail term of 48 hours to 90 days, a two-year license suspension, and requirement to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.

For a third and subsequent DUI convictions, you may face a sentence that includes a $1,00 fine, a jail term of up to 180 days (up to 90 days of which may be served in an inpatient drug or alcohol treatment program), a 10-year suspension of driving privileges, and a requirement to install an ignition interlock device.

Read more: What To Expect After A First Time DUI In New Jersey

Contact an Experienced Clark DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey

Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jame? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Team Law represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Paterson, Elizabeth, Clifton, Trenton, and throughout New Jersey. Call (732) 540-1394 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 136 Central Ave., Clark, NJ 07066, in addition to offices located in West New York, Perth Amboy, Edison, Summit, Newark, New Brunswick, Orange, Plainfield, and Jersey City.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Curious If You Have a Valid Claim?

Free case evaluation

Quickly Find Out If You Have a Good Case for Free!

5 Stars

Team Law is outstanding. Everyone is courteous and knowledgeable and I felt that I got the personal attention that I needed.

what our clients are saying

our awards

certified trial attorney
super lawyers
national trial lawyers
Martindale Preeminent
Million Dollar Advocate Forum
Martindale Distinguished